Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

POST api/Contacts - Test API - Authentication Required

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Accepted Solution

POST api/Contacts - Test API - Authentication Required

I'm just starting out learning Web API.  I'm only dimly familiar with JSON.  I got the bearer token.  I looked at the POST api/Contacts sample and clicked Test API.  I put the bearer token into the Authorization header, click Send Request, and a dialog pops up, stating the server http://localhost requires a username and password.  I assume that's not supposed to happen, and nothing I type in makes it stop from popping right back up again.

I already ran the installer: do I need to do any additional configuration?  Am I perhaps missing something for the Authentication header?

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author bconner26
‎01-18-2016 12:48 PM
Employee

Re: POST api/Contacts - Test API - Authentication Required

If you are using .../Act.Web.API/Help that means the Web API was installed correctly, so you are good there.  

Are you including the database name?  It's case sensitive, and often a reason for authentication here to go wrong.  Also, make sure you can log in normally to that database.  Log into .../APFW with the same credentials you are trying.  Sometimes people have a pending user, or don't have the user they think they do in that database, etc..

Hope that helps.

View solution in original post

All Replies
Solution
Accepted by topic author bconner26
‎01-18-2016 12:48 PM
Employee

If you are using .../Act.Web.API/Help that means the Web API was installed correctly, so you are good there.