Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Would LINQ be an easier method to filtering Histories, etc than using IFilterCriteria?

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Accepted Solution

Would LINQ be an easier method to filtering Histories, etc than using IFilterCriteria?

Hey everyone,

I'm still fairly new with working with the SDK and development in general but I have always found filtering lists of Activities or Histories somewhat difficult or confusing. 

I just learned about using Generic Lists and LINQ and wondered if there was any reason not to use it as apposed to the IFilterCriteria when getting a list of Histories to filter.

Here is an example of how I would use it to get a list of historytypes on a contact which are associated with a specific custome activity type:

// I will use my contact as an example
Contact c = tool.ActFwk.CurrentUser.Contact;

// Get the custom activity type for which I want to get the HistoryTypes associated to
ActivityType cfActivityType = tool.ActFwk.Activities.GetActivityType("Client Follow-up");

// Get the history types associated to the custome activity type
HistoryType[] hTypes = tool.ActFwk.Histories.GetHistoryTypes(cfActivityType); // Get all of the histories associated to the contact
HistoryList hL = tool.ActFwk.Histories.GetHistories(null, c);
// Create a new generic list of type History
List<History> list = new List<History>();
// Loop through the historyList and add them to the generic list
foreach (History h in hL)
{ list.Add(h); }

// Use LINQ to make a new list with specific criteria and sorted by create date List<History> followupHistories = list.Where(
h => h.Regarding == "Follow-up on Documents Sent" &&
hTypes.Contains(h.HistoryType)).OrderByDescending(h => h.CreateDate).ToList();
// output information from the first History in the list which was the last created
Console.WriteLine(followupHistories[0].CreateDate.ToString() + " " + followupHistories[0].Details);