Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

VBScript problems...

VBScript problems...

I am fairly new to ACT! and it's been a long while since I did much scripting, so my apologies if this is a simple programmer's error.

I'm trying to generate a string array to be used to fill in address lines on a report. I'm hoping to prevent gaps when information is missing. Here's what I'm having a hard time with:

-------------------------------------------
'Create a string array to hold address info
dim address(3)

'Write info to array
address(0) = "Address Line 1"
address(1) = "Address Line 2"
address(2) = "City, State Zip"
address(3) = "Customer Phone"

'Write info into custom fields
custom1.text = address(0)
custom2.text = address(1)
custom3.text = address(2)
custom4.text = address(3)
--------------------------------------------

I'm actually planning on using a loop to populate the custom fields based on what information is available, but that doesn't really matter right now.

The problem I am having is that ACT! is using whatever value was defined last as the value for every container in the array. So in this example we would see this:

Customer Phone
Customer Phone
Customer Phone
Customer Phone

Any help?
Copper Elite Contributor

Re: VBScript problems...

I'm not that good with VBScript, but shouldn't it be dim address(4)?
Nick Bohne
Effective Solutions, Inc.
Bronze Elite Contributor

Hi Dagan,

I've forgotten quite a bit of VB since I switche over to C#. Just to confirm, are you using the script within the reports? From the syntax it looks like you are trying to write a custom scrpit so that you do not have blank rows within a report. If this is the case I have battled with this myself and finally gave up!