Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

System.ArgumentNullException in SetValue

Tuned Listener

System.ArgumentNullException in SetValue

Hi!

I'm new to ACT! and tried spending time doing examples using the sdk. Now the problem I encountered upon discovering things was that when I SetValue to my custom opportunity field, I get System.ArgumentNullException. I wonder why it'd thrown that error. Here are my codes which I tried to use:

Act.Framework.Opportunities.OpportunityList ol = ACTFM.Opportunities.GetOpportunities(null);

MutableEntityFieldDescriptor oppF = ACTFM.Opportunities.GetMutableEntityFieldDescriptor("MyCustomField1", FieldNameType.Alias);
                MutableEntityFieldDescriptor oppF2 = ACTFM.Opportunities.GetMutableEntityFieldDescriptor("MyCustomField1", FieldNameType.Alias);

foreach (Act.Framework.Opportunities.Opportunity op in ol)
                {
                    MessageBox.Show(oppF.Name);

MessageBox.Show(oppF2.Name);

try

{
                    //op.Fields[oppF.Name, true] = "123123";
                    //op.OpportunityFields[oppF.Alias, FieldNameType.Alias] = "123";

oppF.SetValue(op, "123");
                    oppF2.SetValue(op, true);

//op.Fields[oppF.Name, true] = "123123";                   
                   // op.Fields["MyCustomField1", FieldNameType.Alias] = "123";
                    op.Update();
                  }
                   catch (Exception ex)
                    {
                        MessageBox.Show(ex.ToString());
                    }

}

What I really want is to set a value for my custom field in the opportunity table. oppF  and oppF2 are not null because they return a field name.  I also tried those commented statements but still throw the same error. What am I doing wrong? 

Here is the Error:

System.ArgumentNullException: Value cannot be null.

Parameter name: format

at System.String.Format(IFormatProvider provider, String format, Object[] args)