Search instead for 
Do you mean 

SDK - Negative Impression

Copper Contributor

SDK - Negative Impression

[ Edited ]

Hi All. - HELP!!!

I am new to ACT and its SDK.

I have been a Professional Computer Programmer for 38 years.

Assembler, Cobol, C, C++, SQL, VB6, VB.NET. I am not stupid by a long chalk.

Can anybody help me to fathom out the secret to understanding what on earth the SDK is all about.

It NEVER goes into any useful depth. Was it wriiten by somebody who NEVER EVER tried to use it?

I am unable to understand it. When I want to know what functions (Methods) are available and upon what attributes (class members) they act and what are acceptable values to put into parameters (arguments) I end up just trawling through this forum.

It takes me about 4 hours to write a tiny algorithm to just list some contacts or companies using sortcriteria and or filtercriteria.

I have never ever come across an SDK as poor as the ACT SDK, - it is worse than useless.

On the other hand, this forum is a goldmine. How on earth does anybody ever use the SDK which has absolutely NO examples in it.

If you didnt actually develop the ACT solution, then you would NEVER understand the SDK.

Sorry to have such a negative impression of it, but it is almost impossible to develop with it unless you are given explicit code as examples, and a lot of those dont actually work first time.

So could somebody please help me with the mindset needed to actually unravel the example-less SDK, otherwise its "Hello Again Dynamics, - sorry I havent been in touch for a couple of months!"

Help!,

Lundy

Re: SDK - Negative Impression

[ Edited ]

There are a number of examples in the SDK documentation including one that demonstrates displaying a list of contacts. If you look in the help file for the topic 'Framework Example - Return a collection of Contacts' this should give you a good intro to the topic.

Copper Contributor

[ Edited ]

Hi again Darron.

Thanks for the reply.