Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Opening VS 2005 solution in VS 2010 fails to convertt all items

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Posts: 28
Country: United_Kingdom
Accepted Solution

Opening VS 2005 solution in VS 2010 fails to convertt all items

I am endeavouring to learn more about ACTplugin design from the Durkin auto-refresh plugin which is kindly supplied with VS project files.  But I have a problem that when I open the porject it in VS2010, the conversion process fails to convert some 16 items - see below.

 

 

Durkin1.png

 

 

The project converts fine but obviously will not run without these files.  How can I convert this project to run under VS 2010 or add the missing files to the partially converted project ?  Thanks.

 


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author PeterK
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Copper Contributor
Posts: 28
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Opening VS 2005 solution in VS 2010 fails to convert all items

Thanks Jim - perfect !  Now the fun part starts, working out how this application does what it does.  Thanks again for your time on this. Peter

View solution in original post


All Replies
Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,231
Country: USA

Re: Opening VS 2005 solution in VS 2010 fails to convert all items

I don't think there were errors converting it just that the core *.vb, *.bmp, *,ico and other types did not need to be converted. The count of not converted should not present any issues for the solution.

 

Only the solution file *.sln is converted up to VS2012

 

Did you get it to run?

 

-- Jim Durkin

Copper Contributor
Posts: 28
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Opening VS 2005 solution in VS 2010 fails to convert all items

I've installed the compiled product and it illustrates exactly the functionality that I'm trying to master in ACT.   But I haven't run the 2010 converted product.  I thought it bound to fail without the entities which failed to convert !   I'm keen to see the forms that you used and the associated code to help me  build my first test plug-in - something  which simply collects some user data and then uses ACT objects to make changes to the database.

 

Are you saying that I should be able to do all this and see all the code etc.  without converting these objects ?

 

I have a copy of VS 2005 somewhere and I toyed with the idea of building an Xp PC with VS2005 to open the project in the same environment as it was designed.  But if I can get there with VS2010 so much the better.  My objective is to understand how it works - not to simply run the end product.

 

Thanks for coming back on this. 

Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,231
Country: USA

Re: Opening VS 2005 solution in VS 2010 fails to convert all items

I can rebuild the project in VS 2012. Would that be helpful?

 

You can contact me directly

 

-- Jim Durkin

Copper Contributor
Posts: 28
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Opening VS 2005 solution in VS 2010 fails to convert all items

Jim - Just to confirm I have sent you an email accepting your kiind offer of a VS2010 version.  Thanks for your help here.

 Peter

Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,231
Country: USA

Re: Opening VS 2005 solution in VS 2010 fails to convert all items

[ Edited ]

Attached is the AutoRefresh in Visual Studio 2012.

I do not have VS 2010 installed anywhere I can find.

 

-- Jim 

Copper Contributor
Posts: 28
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Opening VS 2005 solution in VS 2010 fails to convert all items

Thanks Jim.   Peter

Copper Contributor
Posts: 28
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Opening VS 2005 solution in VS 2010 fails to convert all items

I've opened the project in VS2012 and replaced all the ACT object references ( I'm running this with ACT 2014 ):

ACT.Framework

ACT.Shared.Collections

ACT.Shared.ComponentModel

ACT.UI

ACT.UI.Core

 

When these references have been replaced VS shows no errors or warning.  But when I start degugging, ACT opens but I get this error message - which I don't understand !

 

ACTVS2012Err1.png

 

Any suggestions on what I can do to sort this error ?  Thanks.

Copper Contributor
Posts: 28
Country: United_Kingdom

Re: Opening VS 2005 solution in VS 2010 fails to convert all items

Further to my last post,  when the solution is built and the .dll is copied from the Act for Web plugins folder to the  Act for Windows plugin folder, the plug in runs perfectly.  Brilliant !

 

This is fine for a plugin that works, as this one does, but debug mode is necessary during development and testing.  So as I see it, it is necessary to sort the error message in my previous post.

Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,231
Country: USA

Re: Opening VS 2005 solution in VS 2010 fails to convert all items

Open the project and go to the Properties-> Compile.

 

1) Go to the Properties-> Compile. Set the 'Build output path:' to your desired Act! version such as:

C:\Program Files (x86)\ACT\Act for Web\Plugins\

C:\Program Files (x86)\ACT\Act for Windows\Plugins\

 

2)  Go to Properties-> Debug. Set "Start Extneral program" to the desired Act! version also:

ACT 2014 ( oops v16)

C:\Program Files (x86)\ACT\Act for Web\Act!.exe

C:\Program Files (x86)\ACT\Act for Windows\Act!.exe

 

Older Act!

C:\Program Files (x86)\ACT\Act for Web\ActSage.exe

C:\Program Files (x86)\ACT\Act for Windows\ActSage.exe

 

Then you should be able to fully debug.

 

-- Jim Durkin