Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

New to .NET Development for Act! SDK

Accepted Solution Solved
Avid Listener
Accepted Solution

New to .NET Development for Act! SDK

I'm a developer by training and experience.  I've been an ACC for several yrs and I want to get back into development.  There are many versions of Visual Studio:  Pro, Premium and Express versions, etc.  I'm having a hard time getting started with the SDK, so I don't want to find out I'm using the wrong version in the first place.

My question is, which version should I start out with?  I use Visual Studio 2012 Express for Web for websites.  Is that good enough to do SDK development?  Or do I need to go to a Professional version.  I have all of them. 

Another question, what type of application should I start out with using the SDK?  Web? Windows?  Or should I just do a console application?  I want to get it up and going.

Kevin Varnon
ClientTrax CRM
Kansas City
(785) 408-3702
kevin@clienttrax.com

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author kevin319
‎10-05-2015 10:28 AM
Silver Super Contributor

Re: New to .NET Development for Act! SDK

If you can get it for free (MSDN, etc.) I would go with Visual Studio 2015 Enterprise since it has all the bells and whistles.  If you have to pay for it then the Community edition will probably be fine.  I would still go with the 2015 Community edition.

Stan

If you would like to get more out of ACT! you can find an ACT! Certified Consultant near you by going to:www.act.com/acc.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stan Smith
ACT! Certified Consultant
ADS Programming Services, Inc.
(205) 222-1661
www.adsprogramming.com
www.actwebhosting.com
Click Here to Purchase Act!

View solution in original post

All Replies
Bronze Elite Contributor

Hi Kevin,