Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

How to customize ACT to interface with linux server?

How to customize ACT to interface with linux server?

Greetings,

I am new to ACT! and I am looking for some guidance before embarking on that long and winding road of yet another learning curve.  ;-)

I am a contractor working on the Linux side of the house, implementing an authentication server.

The customer database is in ACT!

I need to know if there is a way to customize ACT! so that it can trigger an update to a remote database on the Linux server?

I know of a few possible options, such as sending a web request to the server, populated with the data within the URL parameters.  Or perhaps some form of inter-process communications over a custom port and protocol?

What I want to avoid is having to create a new parallel database on the Linux server, and do double data entry to keep them in sync.  I only need a few fields to be sent over, and ideally, have some confirmation to the user that the change was successful.  This can be done on the server side.  I just need to know if there is a mechanism in ACT! that can support this.

Terms I have seen are add-ons, plug-ins, controls, and buttons...

Any hints on where I might begin my research journey would be most appreciated.

Silver Super Contributor

Re: How to customize ACT to interface with linux server?

There are a couple of options that come to mind.  The easiest is probably to purchase an addon that will export from ACT! to a file.  You could then retrieve that file from your Linux server and update the database that way.

The second option is to either write an application yourself using the SDK (Software Development Kit) and have it write to a file or to an ODBC interface to your other database.

It really depends on your level of experience and how automated you want the solution to be.

Stan