Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

How to add new history Items to selected companies in VB

Accepted Solution Solved
Accepted Solution

How to add new history Items to selected companies in VB

I am new to ACT and am having great difficulty in finding vb code examples. I want to add History records to selected companies in ACT. The Histories.createHistory methods have far too many attributes, ie contacts, group etc that I don't need and don't know what to do with, and the company attribute is a companylist that I canot find how to fill with a single company.  Any help on this and how to fill the various atributes would be great.

Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author Ensa
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Bronze Super Contributor

Re: How to add new history Items to selected companies in VB

[ Edited ]

I have found the SDK passes EntityLists to methods much more often then is passes the single entity.

ie. It expects a ContactList rather then a single Contact most of the time even if you only want to create a history on one contact. To simplify this the SDK has a method to convert a single contact into a contact list.

Here is an example SDK method where it is creating a history expecting a contact list:

ACTAPP.ActFramework.Histories.CreateHistory(ContactList, _

Guid.Empty, _

New Act.Framework.Histories.HistoryType(Act.Framework.Histories.SystemHistoryType.LetterSent), _

False, _

DateTime.Now, _

DateTime.Now, _

"Regarding String", _

"DetailsString")

But at the time you want to call CreateHistory all you know is the current contact from the UI. Replace the ContactList

variable with the GetContactAsContactLst method.

ACTAPP.ActFramework.Histories.CreateHistory(

ACTFramework.Contacts.GetContactAsContactList(ACTApplication.ApplicationState.CurrentContact), _

Guid.Empty, _

New Act.Framework.Histories.HistoryType(Act.Framework.Histories.SystemHistoryType.LetterSent), _

False, _

DateTime.Now, _

DateTime.Now, _