Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Giving back to the Community - Sample Code - Buttons and Activities

Copper Super Contributor

Giving back to the Community - Sample Code - Buttons and Activities

Hi all

Over the last year i have been writing some code to customise my Act and received a lot of help from the Act Community particularly wellmet, jimdurkin, sam_raikes, vivek, knif and several others. So to help other newbies i will post my code here.

Before i do you must understand i am not a coder to claim such would be insulting to those listed above, i only dabble, so my code is not sexy or clean, it is what it is.

My first bit of code was to create and automate workflow in fact thats what most of my code does in some way, so a button was created for mail received from a contact it created a Note and Activities (more recently i added a DropBox folder checker but that code will come later), this button was then duplicated so now i have 5 for different events relevant to a contact and the business i do

[Act.Shared.ComponentModel.CustomControl(true)]

//Document inwards Button
    class DocumentsInButton : System.Windows.Forms.Button
    {
        protected override void OnClick(System.EventArgs e)
        {
            try
            {

Contact c = Act.UI.ActApplication.Instance.ApplicationState.CurrentContact;

//List out the activity types
                Act.Framework.Activities.ActivityType[] activityTypes = Act.UI.ActApplication.Instance.ActFramework.Activities.GetActivityTypes();

//List out the note types
                Act.Framework.Notes.NoteType[] noteTypes = Act.UI.ActApplication.Instance.ActFramework.Notes.GetNoteTypes();

//set a new activity template link
                Act.Framework.Activities.ActivityTemplate aTemplate;

foreach (Act.Framework.Activities.ActivityType a in activityTypes)
                {
                    if (a.Name == "To-do")
                    {