Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

First few steps in development...

First few steps in development...

Hi all! I'm brand new to ACT developing and I'm hoping a kind soul will take mercy on me and help me out getting started. I'll first describe what I'm trying to do, and then follow with everything I have done to try and get this accomplished so far.

I am trying to create a new menu item that will launch preferrably a new ACT form, but it would also be acceptable if it launched a vb.net form. This form will contain a drop down with all the companies we currently do business with, so a user can select the appropriate company. The form will also contain some text fields that the user will use to enter data ACT is not currently set up to collect. Upon closing or saving the form, the information in the form will be stored in a SQL database, external to the ACT database. I don't think any of this sounds too complicated.

I began by first downloading the Sage ACT! 2011 SDK, and I copied the GlobalAssemblyCache folder from the disk to my local machine. I'm not clear on where this is supposed to go, so I have it in my documents folder for now. I read through most of the documentation included in the SDK, and also noticed that it includes a code sample for a custom menu plugin. This seemed like the beginning of my solution, or at least a good place to start to understand where the code goes, and what changes I can expect to see in the ACT UI. According to the documentation I read, all I have to do is include CustomMenuPlugin.cs in C:\Program Files\ACT\Act for Windows\Plugins. From what I understand, ACT looks to this location to run any plugins included here. I expected to see a generic "Cusom" menu item that didn't do anything when clicked, but that was at least present in the ACT UI. No such luck.