Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Fairly new to ACT! - Software Developer looking to access database directly

Fairly new to ACT! - Software Developer looking to access database directly

Hey all,

Let me start by saying I'm new to ACT!.  I'm currently working on an application for our customer service department that will add follow-up notes to contacts in a variety of our applications, with ACT! being the one I'm having issues with at the moment.  In testing, I have been using the ACT2012Demo database on my local machine, and I believe I've found the tables I need to add to, and it seems to be working great.  I'm trying to connect to the production server, and it looks like the only SQL users listed on the instance are sa and BUILTIN\users.  My IT people aren't sure if they've ever had the sa password, so my question is, if this is the case is there a way to reset that password and add other dbreader/dbwriter users to that database?

If so, could someone guide me in that direction so I can start down that path tomorrow?

Thanks so much!

Mike

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: Fairly new to ACT! - Software Developer looking to access database directly

Hi Mike,

Thanks for the reply.  My question isn't whether or not it should be done, but how to access the data our company owns.  If I wanted to get access to that SQL instance with a new user, is it possible?  If so, how would I get that new user created with read/write access to the live database?

Thanks!

Mike

Have a look at the link I posted ... has a number of ways to read the data and a couple to write it
Copper Contributor

How can writing to an existing field in an existing record break it.
I can understand if you're trying to add new records and screwing up the GUID's ACT uses to link history to contacts and such, but writing to an existing field in an existing record breaking anything?