Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Custom Tables (Custom Sub-Entities) SDK Feedback

Employee

Custom Tables (Custom Sub-Entities) SDK Feedback

Want to help shape the future of the SDK?  Here's your chance! 

As we look to evolve custom tables, we'd very much like to hear from you relating to the SDK:

• What's missing?
  • Any outstanding issues we may not know about?
  • What would you expect next?
  • What do you like/dislike?

Please responde to this thread and give us your feedback.

Thanks!

Nickel Super Contributor

Re: Custom Tables (Custom Sub-Entities) SDK Feedback

Hi Xavier,

Just to say I'm very happy with the SDK, I really enjoy coding with it.  There isn't anything I can think of off the top of my head which we need and can't currently do (sometimes with a little help from my colleauges Smiley Happy ).  The only thing I woud like is some real basic step by step web plugin instructions, it's partly my fault as I'm not a web developer but I know it's not just me that struggles with apfw plugins at the moment.  I think with the way the web 2.0 world is going at the moment this is the direction ACT! will be headding and it would be good to get a few more plugins working with it.

Tom

Loyal Listener

Overall I'm very happy with the SDK.  My only request would be more code samples, especially in VB.  While I can convert from C# most of the time, it'd be helpful to have them in VB already.

Thanks for asking.

Mike Fortier

Fortier Consulting, LLC

Copper Contributor

Xavier,

Since your message subject includes (Custom Sub-Entities), I'll limit my response to that area of the SDK, and give feedback on the SDK in general in another message.

The Custom-Entity components of the SDK seem fairly comprehensive.  Of course, the AI needs to include the ACT! report writer, ACT Layout Editor and ACT! Lookup integration, but that's outside the scope of the SDK.

SDK Custom-Entity (CE) specific shortcomings include: