Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Creating New Opportunity via SDK

Tuned Listener

Creating New Opportunity via SDK

Hi,

I am new in this environment and I have a task that I need to do for my boss.  Ultimately, I need to read certain number of informations from multiple local sources ( excel, SQL ) and validate the data (using our own business logic)  and then update the oportunity amount field and create another instance of an opportunity in Act.

I am a VB coder and I am hoping if someone could give me some idea on how to achieve this using the SDK (2007 9.0)

Nickel Super Contributor

Re: Creating New Opportunity via SDK

dim actfwk as new act.framweork.actframework

actfwk.logon(pad,user,password)

dim opp as act.framework.opportunities.opportunity = actfwk.opportunities.createopportunity(paramaters see below)...

'cant remember if you need to call update or not as I'm not at my work computer

opp.update()

Overloads Public Function CreateOpportunity( _ ByVal name As String, _ ByVal contact As Contact, _ ByVal status As OpportunityStatus, _ ByVal stage As Stage, _ ByVal probability As Integer, _ ByVal estCloseDate As Date, _ ByVal makeItPrivate As Boolean _ ) As Opportunity

Tom

Tuned Listener

TDavis,

Thank you for the response.

I am just curious if there's an ID that I can use to create a new opportunity to a specific contact. I've searched around the sdk docs and I don't see any option to retreive the record ID on a contact level. I am hesitant to use the Fullname since we have legit records that have similar names. Do you have any recommendation?

Tuned Listener

[ Edited ]

Hi,

I was trying to use the create opportunity function that you recommended but I am always getting this error "Object reference not set to an instance of an object. " (particularly on my varcontacts in createopportunity function)

I posted a summary of my code for your reference.

ActFwkLogin()

Dim mDays As Date = Now.AddDays(30)