Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Create companies from SDK

Create companies from SDK

I am new to using the SDK and I had no trouble adding and deleting contacts.  I have read the Developer's Reference and I have tried to use the help files that come with the SDK but my computer wont load them.  (Is there a copy of the help files that is in comething besides .chm format?)

My product uses an access database and my users want to move to using ACT to manage their contacts and companies so I need to read contacts AND COMPANIES from ACT and store in my database and I need to read contacts AND COMPANIES from my database and put them into ACT.

I had no problem with the contacts but I can't figure out how to instantiate the company objects in the ACT SDK.  I can get the list of companies from:

mActFramework.Companies.GetAllCompanies(Act.Framework.Interop.CompanySortOrder.Name, True, True)

but that doesn't give me all the data like address info.   I also can't figure out how add a company because I can't seem to connect my mActFramework.Logon()   to a CompanyList.    Since I can't seem to read the helpfiles I am working without a net here.

Can someone post an example that creates a company object, hard codes its name, address, street, etc, connects to an act database, and adds that company and saves it  from the SDK?  (I assume that pulling the full data the other way woul be similar.)   I'd prefer VB.NET since that's what I am forced to use but I should be able to translate from C#.

Copper Contributor

Re: Create companies from SDK

Hi

Assuming you have logged into the framework and have fw

Act.Framework.Companies.CompanyManager mgr = fw.Companies;

Act.Framework.Companies.Company comp = mgr.CreateCompany();

comp.Name = "MyCompany";

comp.Update();

To set the individual fields, you need to get the CompanyFieldCollection and select each item you want to update.