Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Connecting to Act! 2010 from Access

Connecting to Act! 2010 from Access

We have an in-house manufacturing management system created in Access 2007, and are also using Act! 2010 for our CRM.  We would like to be able to draw in the current contact from Act! into our Access database.  This is a one way transfer (eg from Act! to Access).

Can someone provide some advise on the best way to do this?  I have seen a number of 3rd party apps that do this (Quotewerks is a good example).  

Platinum Elite Contributor

Re: Connecting to Act! 2010 from Access

Reading the database isn't too hard... but getting the current contact means you'll probably need to write (or get someone to write) an ACT! Plugin using the ACT! SDK
http://blog.glcomputing.com.au/2009/07/connecting-to-act-by-sage-data.html
KVB

Hi Mike,

I'm a consultant working on this issue for my client.  I have chatted with technical support and they have told me that we are not able to connect/read the ACT! Pro database through ODBC or OLEDB.  We must upgrade to premium or buy the SA password.

Is this your understanding as well?

I'm currenty trying to get in touch with your SDK team to see what options I have there...

Kelly

You need Premium for ODBC, not for OLEDB

If you need help with the SDK, let me know
KVB

Thanks for the reply Mike.

Can you give me so more info on using OLEDB to connect to the ACT! database.  I can certainly see how it's done in Excel or other Office documents but I don't believe this can be done from MS Access.  If you know how to do this can you give me the details?

The same goes for the SDK.  I'm unclear how you can use the info from the SDK to make a connection to the ACT! database from MS Access.  Best case scenario won't you still need the SA password?

Thanks!

Kelly

I don't know Access that well, but I'm pretty sure it can read OLEDB

SDK requires you to program in .Net