Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Change a Custom Sub-Entity field DisplayName?

Copper Contributor

Change a Custom Sub-Entity field DisplayName?

Hey everyone, I'm fairly new with the SDK but had a quick question.

How does one go about changing the DisplayName of a field residing in a Custom Sub-Entity in C#?

I'm sure it is completely obvious but for some reason this is what is giving me a hard time.

Thanks again!

-Eric

Employee

Re: Change a Custom Sub-Entity field DisplayName?

Changing the property for a custom field is similar to how you'd do it for any other field, it will change slightly however depending on what the parent entity is. 

MutableEntityFieldDescriptor mefd = _ActApp.ActFramework.Opportunities.GetMutableEntityFieldDescriptor(realFieldName, true);

realFieldName above is the column name of the field descriptor, alternatively, if you only need to get the value you can also use the OLEDB provider, an example of doing this can be found here

Hope that helps, if you have any more questions don't hesitate to ask.

Matthew Wood
Act! SDK Support
Community Moderator
Copper Contributor

Ok thanks alot Matt I will try it again keeping that in mind.  I think maybe I wasn't using the realFieldName and that was my problem.

Your input is much appreciated!  Just about everytime I get stuck on something it is one of your posts in the forum that helps me out.  Thank you!

-Eric

Copper Contributor

I'm still having trouble and it is probably just that I am missing something very fundamental.

I have my Custom-Sub Entity created and am able to set values on the fields and I can get the DisplayName of the field as a string But I can't change the DisplayName of the field, I must be missing a critical / logical step.

I display the DisplayName property of the field by using the following code:

CustomEntityDescriptor refundDescriptor = actApplication.ActFramework.CustomEntities.GetCustomEntityDescriptor("REFUND");