Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Cannot Add Act.Framework DLL's to Visual Studio

Cannot Add Act.Framework DLL's to Visual Studio

So, I am new to this Act! SDK thing, and I am having some significant problems starting off.

I"ve plowed through the SDK documentation and I cannot find any information on adding the necessary Act.Framework.* dll's to my Visual Studio projects. I know the dll's are located in the Global Assembly Cache, and I know where that is located. My problem is that Visual Studio will not let me add any of the Act.Framework dll's to my solutions when I try to 'Add Reference...' -> 'Browse' and then attempt to add any of the Act dll's from the GAC.

What am I doing so flagrantly wrong here? I have the suspicion that I am simply referencing the incorrect dll's, but I cannot seem to find the Act.Framework and other required assemblies in any other location.

Thanks.

Bronze Elite Contributor

Re: Cannot Add Act.Framework DLL's to Visual Studio

Hi artanis0,

Hmmm....try copying the dll's from the ACT! install CD to the ACT installation folder usually in c:\program files etc.

once there you should be able to add them as a ref to your project.

HTH

Vivek

Vivek Gargav
Caldere Associates Ltd.
www.caldere.com
vgargav@caldere.com
My Blog

Ok, I'll try this. I just figured this would be a bad idea. If I ever get this working, the application I am going to build needs to be redistributable, and I am not sure If I should (or legally allowed to) bundle the required Act assemblies with my application. I would rather not have my end users copy these files off of the CD.
Bronze Elite Contributor

hi artanis0,

It shoudl be ok with the EULA since they would need a licenced copy of ACT! running on their machine for the framework objects to work against a dB.

Can anyone else with a bit more of a formal understanding of EULA step in and confirm?

Never-the-less that is what I do anyway! Smiley Happy

Vivek

Vivek Gargav