Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Act! 2012 upgrade and the broken plug-in

Accepted Solution Solved
Copper Contributor
Posts: 28
Country: Canada
Accepted Solution

Act! 2012 upgrade and the broken plug-in

Has anyone had any issues running a plug-in under Act! 2012?  Have an existing plug-in wirtten in VB.NET 2005.  The error occurs on the second line of the sample code:

 

Dim MyPlugin As MyPluginClass = TryCast(Me.MyPluginBindingSource.AddNew(), MyPluginClass)

*do stuff*

MyPlugin.Update() <-- ERROR

 

I haven't really started looking into this yet, but wanted to know if there is a known issue with this update.


Accepted Solutions
Solution
Accepted by topic author kwill
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,231
Country: USA

Re: Act! 2012 upgrade and the broken plug-in

The error "There is no Original data to access" was fixed in 2012 SP1.

 

The defect ID for this issue was 97764. It was corrected in 2012 SP1 but ACT skipped it in the SP1 Release Overview documentation.

 

Download at 12SP1 at::

http://www.act.com/Support-and-Training/Download-Center

 

-- Jim Durkin

View solution in original post


All Replies
Employee
Posts: 1,163
Country: USA

Re: Act! 2012 upgrade and the broken plug-in

There are no known issues with upgrades breaking plug-ins. 

Matthew Wood
Act! SDK Support
Community Moderator
Copper Contributor
Posts: 28
Country: Canada

Re: Act! 2012 upgrade and the broken plug-in

Given that, do you have any ideas? Is it the version of .NET (I can upgrade)?
Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,231
Country: USA

Re: Act! 2012 upgrade and the broken plug-in

[ Edited ]

What is the error message?

 

Try

       Dim MyPlugin As MyPluginClass = TryCast(Me.MyPluginBindingSource.AddNew(), MyPluginClass)

       '*do stuff*

       MyPlugin.Update() '<-- ERROR

 

Catch ex as execption

       system.windows,forms,messagebox,show(ex.message)

 

end try

 

Thanks

-- Jim Durkin

Copper Contributor
Posts: 28
Country: Canada

Re: Act! 2012 upgrade and the broken plug-in

This is an odd one "There is no Original data to access" Looking into that currently.

For further info, this plug-in is a based on the Policy plug-in posted as an example a few years back. A one-to-many table was needed for the Company list. Data in the table can be edited (and I'm assuming deleted, but since i have lost the ability to add information back, I'm not willing to test that quite yet), but I can't add anything new.
Solution
Accepted by topic author kwill
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 1,231
Country: USA

Re: Act! 2012 upgrade and the broken plug-in

The error "There is no Original data to access" was fixed in 2012 SP1.

 

The defect ID for this issue was 97764. It was corrected in 2012 SP1 but ACT skipped it in the SP1 Release Overview documentation.

 

Download at 12SP1 at::

http://www.act.com/Support-and-Training/Download-Center

 

-- Jim Durkin

Employee
Posts: 1,163
Country: USA

Re: Act! 2012 upgrade and the broken plug-in

I suppose my answer in the first reply is only partially correct, while this defect is not as a result of upgrading, it does occur after you upgrade so for that I apologize. 

Matthew Wood
Act! SDK Support
Community Moderator
Copper Contributor
Posts: 28
Country: Canada

Re: Act! 2012 upgrade and the broken plug-in

Thanks for the information. I've downloaded and applied the service pack, but haven't had the opportunity to update the database yet (2nd day in a row. Users are going to LOVE me)

This does leave me with one question though, I did check for updates after the DVD install (and just before applying the patch) and it stated that I was using the most recent version of the software and no updates were available. Why is that?
Copper Contributor
Posts: 28
Country: Canada

Re: Act! 2012 upgrade and the broken plug-in

And that did it Jim. Thanks!

Still curious about the hidden update though.