Reply
New Member
Posts: 12
Country: Canada
Message 1 of 11 (1,817 Views)

Office 365

I have recently downloaded Office 365 on my computer. I have two email accounts. The issue is the computer (brand new with more than adequate features) continually freezes up with Outlook. The Microsoft tech thinks it is an issue with a software program on my computer. The only one using outlook would be Act. Has anyone else seen this with Office 365? Any thoughts or is the Microsoft agent just passing the buck? Thanks

Dan

Please use plain text.
Platinum Elite Contributor
GLComputing
Posts: 13,878
Country: Australia
Message 2 of 11 (1,796 Views)
Please use plain text.
Platinum Super Contributor
gmartin
Posts: 5,276
Country: USA
Message 3 of 11 (1,790 Views)

Re: Office 365

Hello Braggs,

Welcome to the Sage ACT! Online Community!

 

Office 365 is a web based product and the Sage ACT! program will not integrate with it.  Do you also have a version of Office locally installed on the computer that has integrated with Office 365?  

Greg Martin
Sage
Please use plain text.
Platinum Elite Contributor
GLComputing
Posts: 13,878
Country: Australia
Message 4 of 11 (1,786 Views)

Re: Office 365

Greg, I did a bit of looking around and see that MS have updates to allow Office 2007 and 2010 to function as desktop apps for O365:
http://onlinehelp.microsoft.com/en-us/office365-enterprises/ff637585.aspx
I assume ACT! would be ok that way ... might be worth getting QA to test it?

While the Exchange and Sharepoint SDKs are available, I don't think the others are... hopefully, when they are, Sage will add direct cloud links (as they have with Google) - but I'd guess at least a year away
Please use plain text.
New Member
Posts: 12
Country: Canada
Message 5 of 11 (1,783 Views)

Re: Office 365

I do not think I need Act to integrate with 365. I just need to know if Avt would be causing my issue.

I do have Outlook 2007 on my computer.

It seems when I write an email the Outlook bogs down; loses connection and eventually restores the connection.

Any thoughts?

Please use plain text.
Platinum Elite Contributor
GLComputing
Posts: 13,878
Country: Australia
Message 6 of 11 (1,780 Views)

Re: Office 365

Sorry, didn't realise what you were asking about....

What version/build of ACT! (from help | about)?

If ACT! 2011 (12.x), make sure you have 12.1 + Hotfix 4... this was an issue prior to that with Office 2007 on some systems.
Please use plain text.
New Member
Posts: 12
Country: Canada
Message 7 of 11 (1,779 Views)

Re: Office 365

I have Sage ACT! Pro 2011 Version 13.0.401.0, Hot Fix 2

Please use plain text.
Platinum Elite Contributor
GLComputing
Posts: 13,878
Country: Australia
Message 8 of 11 (1,778 Views)

Re: Office 365

Sorry, I meant 13, not 12.

Download and apply SP1 to bring you to 13.1 as per this ACT! Knowledge Base article -

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/27290

 

Then download and apply Hotfix 4 for SP1 as per this ACT! Knowledge Base article -

http://kb.sagesoftwareonline.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/27440

You'll note that this includes 3 and 4 - both with addressed performance issues you describe

 

Note: All users sharing the database (Lan or Sync) need to be on the same build

Please use plain text.
New Member
Posts: 12
Country: Canada
Message 9 of 11 (1,762 Views)

Re: Office 365

Thanks, and I did as you suggested. Plus unplugged and rebooted the internet box. Still getting the error: "Outlook is trying to retrieve alerts from the Microsoft Exchange server ------------- .mailbox.outlook.com"

Any thoughts?

Please use plain text.
Platinum Elite Contributor
GLComputing
Posts: 13,878
Country: Australia
Message 10 of 11 (1,755 Views)
Please use plain text.