Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Community Home Request Access Read Blogs Share Your Ideas Search Community View My Settings
newit
Message 1 of 2 (2,827 Views)

Network Sync port requirements

Greetings, all:

I am still pretty new to ACT!, and here is an issue or a request for information regarding an issue with syncing remote databases.

We are running ACT!  version 9.0.1.162 as the publisher and on all clients.

I have created a test RDB for this purpose, but the issue affects all RDB users who have had their RDB without issue for some time.

Everyone used to be able to sync databses, until around two weeks ago, when some VPN and firewall changes were made. Now, I suspected we had an issue with our VPN routing which it turns out we did, and now that it is straigtened out, our ACT server is reachable via VPN. No firewall rules have changed, and we're still allowing inbound TCP to act:65100. In fact, I can telnet to the port fine both internally and on an untrusted network through our SSL VPN. I get a goofy .NET error in my session which I just assume is the result of the server not knowing what I'm doing (or me not knowing what I'm doing). 

Anyhow, I still can't sync over the VPN. I also can't sync internally. The Network Sync Service (which I understand listens for incoming syncs when the main database is closed) is running, and it is managing sync connections for act:65100 for our main database that I had published the RDB from. 

I can confirm that the server is listening on TCP 65100 when I view my active connections. In fact, when I telnet to 65100 I can see that active connection as well, so it does not seem to be a TCP/IP communication issue.