Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Community Home Request Access Read Blogs Share Your Ideas Search Community View My Settings
Reply
Copper Contributor
Antonis
Posts: 17
Country: Greece
Message 1 of 18 (3,375 Views)
Accepted Solution

Communication Error between act & outlook. It does not record History!

I have everything set up correctly but still act does not record history of e-mails through Outlook mail system. In one of my pc's when i open a new mail message on outlook, i can see the act taskbar. In another pc a cannot even see that taskbar! What's wrong?
Platinum Elite Contributor
GLComputing
Posts: 13,904
Country: Australia
Message 2 of 18 (3,373 Views)

Re: Communication Error between act & outlook. It does not record History!

Copper Contributor
Antonis
Posts: 17
Country: Greece
Message 3 of 18 (3,371 Views)

Re: Communication Error between act & outlook. It does not record History!

ACT! by Sage 2007 (9.0) Version 9.0.1.162, Hotfix 1, Outlook 2003 (11.8118.8132) SP2 on one machine and outlook 2003 (11.8169.8172) SP3 on another machine with the samw version of Act I have all the settings correct. On one machine, although i load the act add in from the add in mananger it doaes not appear as an add in on the outlook interface.
Platinum Elite Contributor
GLComputing
Posts: 13,904
Country: Australia
Message 4 of 18 (3,378 Views)
Copper Contributor
Antonis
Posts: 17
Country: Greece
Message 5 of 18 (3,089 Views)

Re: Communication Error between act & outlook. It does not record History!

Hello,

 

I have tried the instructions given to previous chat, but it doesn't work! I checked the knowledge base a lot...

 

Is there anythng else I could do?

Platinum Elite Contributor
GLComputing
Posts: 13,904
Country: Australia
Message 6 of 18 (3,020 Views)

Re: Communication Error between act & outlook. It does not record History!

Platinum Elite Contributor
ghollister
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA
Message 7 of 18 (3,020 Views)

Re: Communication Error between act & outlook. It does not record History!

If you applied SP3 to Outlook while ACT! was installed, this may have broken the interface between the two programs, since Outlook needs to be fully installed and configured when ACT is installed.  Try uninstalling and reinstalling ACT! on the machine with SP3.

Greig Hollister
Sage

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software

Copper Contributor
newatatc
Posts: 172
Country: USA
Message 8 of 18 (2,662 Views)

Re: Communication Error between act & outlook. It does not record History!

None of these solutions is working for me - I have Outlook 2007 / ACT 2008 Premium with latest patches - and I have no ACT tab in Outlook -- and it doesnt record emails (on any of my PCs)
Copper Contributor
newatatc
Posts: 172
Country: USA
Message 9 of 18 (3,004 Views)

Re: Communication Error between act & outlook. It does not record History!

what do you mean about "apply' and reconnect the ACT links?

 

Platinum Elite Contributor
GLComputing
Posts: 13,904
Country: Australia
Message 10 of 18 (2,942 Views)

Re: Communication Error between act & outlook. It does not record History!

newatatc:

 

What build of ACT! 2008 (from Help | About)?

 

Have you checked:

  1. Open Outlook.
  2. Click Help then Disabled Items.
  3. Look for a file path that ends with either ACT9EXT.DLL or ACT9AB32.DLL (capitalization may differ). This path will vary depending on your operating system. (Looking at the end of the path is the easiest method for locating the ACT! add-in components.)
  4. If you see one or both of the items listed above, highlight them and click Enable.
  5. Close and then reopen both Outlook and ACT!.