Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Community Home Request Access Read Blogs Share Your Ideas Search Community View My Settings
Reply
New Member
BobH
Posts: 25
Country: United States
Message 1 of 8 (131 Views)

ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

I know ACT! 2010 uses SQL Server Express 2005, but if I install it on a machine that already has a working version of SQL Server 2008 (with MS Business Contact Manager working fine) will it use SQL 2008 or will it install 2005?  I don't want to experiment for fear of corrupting my SQL 2008 system.

Please use plain text.
Platinum Elite Contributor
ghollister
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA
Message 2 of 8 (127 Views)

Re: ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

Hello BobH,
ACT! 2010 can work with SQL 2008 Express, but not the R2 version.

Greig Hollister
Sage

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software

Please use plain text.
New Member
BobH
Posts: 25
Country: United States
Message 3 of 8 (87 Views)

Re: ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

I don't think I have R2 installed.  Here's a screen shot of what I have.  Does this mean that when I install ACT it will recognize SQL 2008 and just install the ACT7 instance?  If so, that would be great and solve all my problems!

 

deleteme.png

Please use plain text.
Platinum Elite Contributor
ghollister
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA
Message 4 of 8 (84 Views)

Re: ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

You will need to follow the instructions in the following Knowledgebase article to manually create the ACT7 instance:
http://kb.Sagesoftwareonline.com/cgi-bin/Sagesoftwareonline.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=2519...

Then install ACT! 2010.

Greig Hollister
Sage

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software

Please use plain text.
New Member
BobH
Posts: 25
Country: United States
Message 5 of 8 (81 Views)

Re: ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

Hi Greig,

 

I was under the assumption that the ACT install procedure had to create it's own instance and if it detected a previously instance the install procedure halted.  Am I wrong in that?

 

And, is my "regular SQL 2008" equivalent to the Express 2008?

 

Bob

Please use plain text.
New Member
BobH
Posts: 25
Country: United States
Message 6 of 8 (80 Views)

Re: ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

I just read the instructions in the link you provded and this procedure seems to work only for ACT Premium and I have the standard version.  Will it work with the standard version?

Please use plain text.
Platinum Elite Contributor
ghollister
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA
Message 7 of 8 (79 Views)

Re: ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

Yes, it will work with the standard version of ACT!. And ACT! does not create the instance - SQL does. ACT! just needs to find it when it installs.

Greig Hollister
Sage

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software

Please use plain text.
Platinum Elite Contributor
GLComputing
Posts: 13,887
Country: Australia
Message 8 of 8 (67 Views)

Re: ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

Please use plain text.