Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Community Home Request Access Read Blogs Share Your Ideas Search Community View My Settings
Reply
New Member
BobH
Posts: 25
Country: United States
Message 1 of 8 (142 Views)

ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

I know ACT! 2010 uses SQL Server Express 2005, but if I install it on a machine that already has a working version of SQL Server 2008 (with MS Business Contact Manager working fine) will it use SQL 2008 or will it install 2005?  I don't want to experiment for fear of corrupting my SQL 2008 system.

Platinum Elite Contributor
ghollister
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA
Message 2 of 8 (138 Views)

Re: ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

Hello BobH,
ACT! 2010 can work with SQL 2008 Express, but not the R2 version.

Greig Hollister
Sage

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software

New Member
BobH
Posts: 25
Country: United States
Message 3 of 8 (98 Views)

Re: ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

I don't think I have R2 installed.  Here's a screen shot of what I have.  Does this mean that when I install ACT it will recognize SQL 2008 and just install the ACT7 instance?  If so, that would be great and solve all my problems!

 

deleteme.png

Platinum Elite Contributor
ghollister
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA
Message 4 of 8 (95 Views)

Re: ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

You will need to follow the instructions in the following Knowledgebase article to manually create the ACT7 instance:
http://kb.Sagesoftwareonline.com/cgi-bin/Sagesoftwareonline.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=2519...

Then install ACT! 2010.

Greig Hollister
Sage

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software

New Member
BobH
Posts: 25
Country: United States
Message 5 of 8 (92 Views)

Re: ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

Hi Greig,

 

I was under the assumption that the ACT install procedure had to create it's own instance and if it detected a previously instance the install procedure halted.  Am I wrong in that?

 

And, is my "regular SQL 2008" equivalent to the Express 2008?

 

Bob

New Member
BobH
Posts: 25
Country: United States
Message 6 of 8 (91 Views)

Re: ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

I just read the instructions in the link you provded and this procedure seems to work only for ACT Premium and I have the standard version.  Will it work with the standard version?

Platinum Elite Contributor
ghollister
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA
Message 7 of 8 (90 Views)

Re: ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?

Yes, it will work with the standard version of ACT!. And ACT! does not create the instance - SQL does. ACT! just needs to find it when it installs.

Greig Hollister
Sage

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software

Platinum Elite Contributor
GLComputing
Posts: 13,904
Country: Australia
Message 8 of 8 (78 Views)

Re: ACT! 2010 installed over SQL Server 2008?