Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Community Home Request Access Read Blogs Share Your Ideas Search Community View My Settings
Reply
tgp
Copper Contributor
tgp
Posts: 30
Country: United States
Message 1 of 7 (4,165 Views)

Remote Database Sync Hangs After Database Modifications (on main database) - ACT! Premium 2009

 We have a number of users synching their remote ACT databases using network sync over theinternet.  Recently some changes were made (on the main database) in the "Company Detail" page layout, mostly in the tab sections at the bottom. Now when users attempt to sync a message comes up:

 

"The main database you are synchronizing with and sending data to needs to transfer database modifications to your remote database.  These modifications require that your remote database be locked. Do you want to continue?" 

 

We click "Yes" and typically the sync process will begin but typically stall / hang on the 4th bar "Synchronizing records and updates" and never complete.

 

Here is a sync log from one of the PCs: (sync was canceled after progress had stopped for some time)

st1\:*{behavior:url(#default#ieooui) }

======== SYNC SESSION - 4/29/2010 11:48:28 AM ========

 

[ Info | 4/29/2010 11:48:28 AM ]Message: Sync remote client created.

[ Info | 4/29/2010 11:48:28 AM ]Message: Checking if schema changes are available for sync.

[ Info | 4/29/2010 11:48:40 AM ]Message: Client establishing synchronization with server database: TGPACTCONTACT

[ Info | 4/29/2010 11:48:43 AM ]Message: Initial Handshake completed.

[ Info | 4/29/2010 11:48:43 AM ]Message: Checking if data changes are available for sync.

[ Info | 4/29/2010 11:48:49 AM ]Message: Client initialized database send session: 8

[ Info | 4/29/2010 11:48:58 AM ]Message: Client initialized.

[ Info | 4/29/2010 11:48:59 AM ]Message: Client schema synchronized.

[ Info | 4/29/2010 11:50:59 AM ]Message: Server initialized.

[ Info | 4/29/2010 11:59:48 AM ]Message: Server schema synchronized.

[ Info | 4/29/2010 12:01:26 PM ]Message: Files synchronized.

[ Info | 4/29/2010 1:43:48 PM ]Message: Synchronization cancelled.

[ Info | 4/29/2010 1:43:48 PM ]Message: Items sent:

Activity - Updated 1

Contact - Updated 1

Security - Added 2, Deleted 1, Updated 2

Sync - Added 2, Deleted 1, Updated 1

Total Records Synchronized - 11

Files - Attempted 0, Completed 0

Exceptions Occurred - 0

 

[ Info | 4/29/2010 1:43:52 PM ]Message: Items received:

Activity - Added 7861

Attachment - Added 161

Company - Added 1152, Updated 1171

Contact - Added 5895

Group - Added 102, Updated 5

History - Added 33569, Updated 41240

Metadata - Added 343, Deleted 74, Updated 230

Note - Added 16

Opportunity - Added 11

Security - Added 2273, Updated 233

Sync - Added 10151, Deleted 7492, Updated 6479

System - Added 194, Updated 10

Total Records Synchronized - 118662

Files - Attempted 322, Completed 322

Exceptions Occurred - 0

 

 

 

I would greatly appreciate any help!

 

Thank You

Please use plain text.
tgp
Copper Contributor
tgp
Posts: 30
Country: United States
Message 2 of 7 (4,092 Views)

Re: Remote Database Sync Hangs After Database Modifications (on main database) - ACT! Premium 2009

Anyone?
Please use plain text.
Platinum Elite Contributor
ghollister
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA
Message 3 of 7 (4,087 Views)

Re: Remote Database Sync Hangs After Database Modifications (on main database) - ACT! Premium 2009

Hello tgp,

If the changes on the main database were significant, including a number of layout changes and field edits/additions, then the sync may be timing out. A couple of things you can do are increase the sync timeout value and decrease the file buffer size. I would also advise running maintenance on the main database and remote databases by going to Tools/Database Maintenance/Check & Repair. See the following Knowledgebase articles:

 

Increase timeout settings:

How to Increase Timeout Values for Synchronization

*the article suggests increasing to 90, but I would actually do 300

 

Decrease the file buffer size:

Error: "Synchronization has failed. Synchronization failed due to an out of memory error on the serv...

* Different error than what you are getting, but same process

 

Greig Hollister
Sage

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software

Please use plain text.
tgp
Copper Contributor
tgp
Posts: 30
Country: United States
Message 4 of 7 (4,030 Views)

Re: Remote Database Sync Hangs After Database Modifications (on main database) - ACT! Premium 2009

Hello Greig,

 

Thank you very much for those articles.  I have made the changes on both the client and server side and seen some improvement.  However it is not a complete fix.  We still have some databases that never finish sync or just freeze up.  Any other ideas?

 

I just created new remote databases for a few users that had not made many changes on their existing db.  Is there any way to carry over or just sync the entries on the bad remote db's and then give those users a whole new remote db?

Please use plain text.
Platinum Elite Contributor
ghollister
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA
Message 5 of 7 (4,030 Views)

Re: Remote Database Sync Hangs After Database Modifications (on main database) - ACT! Premium 2009

If the remotes cannot sync, then you will need to export the unsynced data from the bad remote to either a new remote or straight into the main database. To determine the unsynced data in the bad remote database, you can go to Lookup/Contact Activity, choose Changed, check of all items for "Search In", and then use the date of the last successful sync (actually to be safe use the day before the last successful sync). This will give you a lookup of contacts that have had data changes since the last sync. You then go to File/Export, choose to export to either a new remote or the main database, then export "Current Lookup". The bad remote and the database your are exporting must be on the same local machine, so if you are exporting it to the main database, you will need to backup the remote and restore it (using the Restore As option) on the server. Note that you can also use the import function if you just want to import the entire remote database instead of just a lookup.

Greig Hollister
Sage

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software

Please use plain text.
tgp
Copper Contributor
tgp
Posts: 30
Country: United States
Message 6 of 7 (3,964 Views)

Re: Remote Database Sync Hangs After Database Modifications (on main database) - ACT! Premium 2009

Greig,

 

Thank you.  If changes have been made on the remote but there are newer changes on the main database; which changes will prevail when Iexport the current lookup?

 

Also, it does look like some changes (by other users) did come through on some not entirely successful syncs.  These changes are showing up in the lookup.  Is there any way to just filter out the changes by the user of the remote db?

 

Thank You

Please use plain text.
Platinum Elite Contributor
ghollister
Posts: 6,537
Country: USA
Message 7 of 7 (3,955 Views)

Re: Remote Database Sync Hangs After Database Modifications (on main database) - ACT! Premium 2009

When you run the export (or import) and you get to the screen in the import wizard where you choose the merge options, choose "Replace with newest" on the left side. This will import in the data with the most recent timestamp. Be sure to back up the target database prior to the import/export.

Greig Hollister
Sage

Note: Effective 6/1/13, Sage no longers provides support for the Act! software

Please use plain text.