Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply

Duplicate Checking

Accepted Solution Solved
New Member
Posts: 6
Country: USA
Accepted Solution

Duplicate Checking

[ Edited ]

I'd like to import from a .txt file and check for duplicates on "last name" and "first name" rather than by contact, but I don't have that option when editing duplicate checking preferences.

 

Any idea why? Help.

 

Using ACT 8 Premium for Workgroups. (I do have "administrator" rights.)

 

Thanks,

db

Message Edited by db_in_atlanta on 06-29-2008 11:44 AM
Solution
Accepted by topic author db_in_atlanta
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,080
Country: Australia

Re: Duplicate Checking

Combine them in Excel to one field, then import and dupe check as Contact?

 

The only other option would be itImport, which adds a lot of power and flexibility to the importing. There are four editions, but you'd only need the Basic one for that

View solution in original post


All Replies
Copper Elite Contributor
Posts: 127
Country: Australia

Re: Duplicate Checking

The ability to duplicate check by First Name and Last Name was added in ACT! 2007/9.

Regards
Neil Gilford
ACT! Certified Consultant
Gilford Computer Solutions
neil@gilford.com.au
New Member
Posts: 6
Country: USA

Re: Duplicate Checking

Does that mean "uh-oh!" for me? ANy know workarounds?

 

Thx.

db

 

 

Solution
Accepted by topic author db_in_atlanta
‎09-25-2015 03:20 AM
Platinum Elite Contributor
Posts: 14,080
Country: Australia

Re: Duplicate Checking

Combine them in Excel to one field, then import and dupe check as Contact?

 

The only other option would be itImport, which adds a lot of power and flexibility to the importing. There are four editions, but you'd only need the Basic one for that

Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 6
Country: USA

Re: Duplicate Checking

Duh!  Thanks, Mike.