Employee
ACTDevNet
Message 1 of 11 (6,358 Views)

Basic Filter Question

by aweekes1 on 11-26-2007 3:29 AM

Hi,

As the post title suggests, this is probably a very simple problem but I'm quite new to Act! so I'm struggling a little!

I want to set the parent company based on a custom field, it's simple enough logically to search the relevant field, pull back the company and supply it to the setparent command but I just can;t seem to get my head around how to build a ifiltercriteria in VB.Net.

Has anyone got some sample code laying around that does this?

Appologies for this not being an interesting web plugin question but it would really help me out.

Cheers,

Adam.

Please use plain text.
Employee
ACTDevNet
Message 2 of 11 (7,592 Views)

Re: Basic Filter Question

by ACTwiz on 11-27-2007 7:52 PM

Im not 100% sure, but I think there is some basic filter code in the SDK documentaion, look thru all of the code stuff, it takes a while to understand where they put stuff. Let me know if that doesn't help.

Jeremy Wesley
ActWiz
Please use plain text.
everettcomstock
Message 3 of 11 (7,560 Views)

Hi Everybody,

I wanted to second this request and ask if someone could give a little more insight into implementing a new type that uses the IFilterCriteria interface. I have implemented the IFilterCriteria on a custom type in my app, but I am not getting what I would consider the "expected" results when I execute a method using this custom type.

First and foremost, the GetClause method, what exactly should this method be returning? Should this be a single word to be used as a filter, a string of search terms, a Sql query? I could not find any specific documentation about this method in the SDK, so forgive me if it is listed somewhere else.

Any direction regarding this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Everett
Please use plain text.
thatch
Message 4 of 11 (7,508 Views)